Olympus OM-2n vs Nikon FE

stevenla

Hi everyone,

I have an Olympus OM-2n and a Nikon FE, each with their own 50mm 1.8 lenses (the Nikon being the Series E lens). I don't want to keep both, since it's starting to get harder to choose between the two whenever I head out for a day of shooting. I'm only an amateur at best, so I'm not in need of something incredibly robust. I like shooting Aperture Priority, but like having manual there if I want to play with settings. I shoot mostly street during the day, and like to dabble in night time long exposures (the Nikon FE has proven to be quite capable at this in Auto on a tripod). Another nit-picky thing is the viewfinder information in both cameras: the Nikon definitely hails superior in this regard.

I think this question boils down to the lens systems that are available to each camera. I've heard great things about Nikkor glass, but haven't heard much about the Series E lenses. On the other hand, Zuiko lenses seem to be very sharp and contrasty, though their availability and thus prices seem to scare me. Which system is cheaper to get into? I can't imagine myself needing anything other than a normal 50mm, a wide angle, and maybe a telephoto lens.

Thank you all for your suggestions!

I have owned both models and loved the jewel like nature of the Olympus and the small contrasty Zuiko lenses, I started with the 50 1.8(superb),a 28 and a 75-150 zoom. The film advance always seemed a bit fragile and failed twice so I switched to Nikon. In 50 years of using their cameras I have never had a camera fail. The FE is fine and the 50 E is all that I required but that voice starts up that says you could do better with a 1.4. What a choice of Nikon lenses there are. So having exhausted the ever fascinating story of my experience here is the advice bit.

1) Keep both, neither will raise a fortune especially if you use a dealer.

Or 2) keep the one in best condition,

Or 3) sell the Olympus and put towards more Nikkor lenses,