Less contrast after film dried

<p>Hello all</p>

<p>I think somebody already asked this question, but I could not google an answer:</p>

<p>My developed film loses contrast when drying. Basically out of the tank, the film is gorgeous. Great contrast and all. However after it dries, I find a less contrasty negative (seems like it fogged or similar).<br>

It's my 2nd filme developed myself, so I am completely new to this. Kodak TMX 100, Rodinal 1+50 (13 minutes @ 20C), 1.5 minute stop bath, 5 minutes fix.</p>

<p>Both films exhibited this and I am quite upset about the result (I feel like I am damaging my own work).</p>

<p>What type of fixer?<br>

Sodium thiosulfate also called Hypo or ammonium thiosulfate commonly called rapid fixer.<br>

If you are using rapid fixer did you use the correct dilution of 1:3 or 1:4, depending on manufacturer, for film?<br>

You can refix the films for additional time up to 30 minutes without any ill effects on the images. Fix times in excess of 30 minutes at 68°F may bleach the film.</p>

<p>The standard test for fixing is to submerge a strip of the same type film as the one to be processed in a container of the fixer starting a timer as the film is put into the fixer and timing until the film becomes clear. Correct fix time is double this time.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Wet negatives may give the illusion of appearing more contrasty, but that's because of the optical effect of water. The dry down effect is common in prints, particularly fiber prints. Your negatives may be perfectly normal. But it wouldn't hurt to extend the fixing time - with agitation - and to double check your entire process to be sure the film isn't fogged, etc.</p>

<p>Indeed for Fiber/Baryta prints the dry down effect is known but for a regular film development, it is how it is. If you have any fog or less good fixed film however you could have above mentioned problems.<br>