How many keepers on a roll?

<p>So, how many really good shots do you usually get on a roll? I realize that how you determine a good shot is based, y'know, what you're trying to do.. Like sorry I don't want to see any photos of your kids. At all. Lately I've been getting what I consider a keeper per roll -- actually maybe a little less than that, and I'm pretty satisfied with that. I'm just curious to the people out there, how many keepers do you get out of a roll usually? How about pros?</p>

<p>"So, how many really good shots do you usually get on a roll?"<br>

I'm not a Pro but Keepers rates depend allot on different factors IMHO. What is the subject matter, stationary or fast moving action ? what type of camera ? what type of lens wide angle telephot, zoom ? AF or manual focus ? what type of film, ISO, What is the atmosphere like ?<br>

On average with a Nikon FM2 manual camera I would say I had 25%-35+% keeper rate. Which was higher than I would get with my Canon Elan II AF. Maybe because with manual focus you tend to pick your subjects a little more carefully. You also refrain from hitting the shutter until you got everything right. </p>

<p>Non pro - but if I wasn't getting at least 28-30 keepers on a 36 exposure roll, I'd be really, really concerned. Seriously, if you're not getting close to that number, you need to concentrate on what you're doing, and how you're doing it, or what you're trying to capture and why it isn't working. Unless you have no knowledge of how to use a camera - ie expose properly, frame, focus, or what's interesting to capture, you should be doing much better. If you haven't yet developed the technical skills don't despair, take some time to study how to improve your keepers ratio, by learning the basics of photography. And good luck!</p>