Scanning Medium Format Film

barry_r

<p>I've been using digital cameras up to now but am exploring the possibility of using a medium format film camera, either 6x4.5 or 6x7, to improve on the ultimate quality of my images and maybe just for the fun of going old school.<br>

I've read somewhere that is recommended to use positive slide film because of the lack of control over how a processing lab makes a print from a negative (I would not be doing that myself). So that means scanning in the film. I've had a lot of experience with an Epson V750 at work so I would probably use something like that.<br>

<br />A very basic question that I am grappling with is this - given the potential advantage of film over digital in dynamic range, treatment of highlights etc., how much of that advantage is retained when the film is scanned in, since the scanner itself uses a digital sensor? Please note: I am not so much interested here in resolution, just color, treatment of highlights, etc. I've so far found both sides argued in various places, but I'd like to get the input from some of the knowledgeable people here. What, if anything, is "lost" by the scanning process?<br>

<br />Also, although I've never had the need to do it before, I believe a scanner like the Epson 750 is able to scan a color negative and produce a color positive image. If so, what are the pros and cons of starting with positive vs. negative film? My guess is that the latter might involve more tweaking in software.<br>

Thank you.</p>

<p>I had never gotten a scan that even remotely approached the luminescence, the color or the pop of the slide. What you lose is dynamic range, color gamut, color luminescence. In other words, you lose the soul.</p>

<p>Shoot negative film if you're going to print it. Shoot positive to project. There's nothing like a medium format projected slide.</p>