Do people still actually print photos?

I'm being facetious, of course: obviously, photos get printed for a variety of

reasons but, reading an interesting thread about how sharpening should really be

done with an eye to the specific printing environment, I realized that I hardly

ever print photos anymore.

I'm an amateur and there's a case to be made that none of my photos are worth

printing but, even so, there's only so much wall space in this world and the

last thing I need is a shoebox or scrapbook full of photos. When I share, it's

via e-mail, flashdrive or CD, the web or digital photo frame.

I have to think that, despite my age, I'm riding the wave of the future in

this--am I right?

I print photos so I can look at them without a computer. The walls of my office are covered with letter-sized inkjet prints. Many times I make a print to hang up next to my computer so I can look at it over a period of time and decide if I like it (or if it needs more work).

FWIW, I also have many more photos on-line in various galleries (and more than that in various machine-readable backups!).

Not too many of my commercial shots get printed anymore unless it's a 4-color brochure. Most end up on a webpage or in a PowerPoint show. All of my wedding & portrait stuff still gets printed on a regular basis- that usually is the final output. Lots of our personal stuff gets sent to Sams for 4x6 & 5x7 prints- our family still loves pix- mostly for the fridge. I still have a color darkroom (that I haven't taken apart yet...) and used to print up to 20x24 for the walls all the time- but I haven't in a long time. Most everything we have on our walls now is real art- oils, watercolor, lithos, engravings, etc...