Using a tablet for photo editing

I've been using a Wacom for about 15 years now and like it a lot.  Be aware that there can be issues with how old your operating system is and the tablet software so check carefully to make sure that your computer will work with the tablet.  Also be prepared for a bit of a learning curve, but I think you will find that it is worth it.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Sanford said:

You'd need a mouse for photo editing?

Recent iPad OS supports mouse usage and some also the Apple Pencil.

However the latest M1/M2 based iPads are as powerfull as a normal computer (and as expensive) so they are self-contained and usage in conjunction with a regular computer doesn't make much sense

• Like 2
Niels

3 hours ago, AJG said:

I've been using a Wacom for about 15 years now and like it a lot.  Be aware that there can be issues with how old your operating system is and the tablet software so check carefully to make sure that your computer will work with the tablet.  Also be prepared for a bit of a learning curve, but I think you will find that it is worth it.

Thanks AJG. I value your response especially given your long time experience with a Wacom tablet.

I have a Windows 11 Pro system and Adobe's Creative Cloud package, so I'm current with my system and editing S/W. I've been looking at Wacom for awhile and am close to pulling the trigger now. I don't mind a learning curve because my goal is to learn new techniques to get new results. 

Best regards my friend!

1 hour ago, Niels - NHSN said:

Recent iPad OS supports mouse usage and some also the Apple Pencil.

However the latest M1/M2 based iPads are as powerfull as a normal computer (and as expensive) so they are self-contained and usage in conjunction with a regular computer doesn't make much sense