Development Times

I am new to developing film, I've already developed a few rolls of Fuji 400 film. My question is there a difference between development times between, different iso? I had developed two films at the same time a Kodak 100 and a Fuji 400. The Fuji Developed correctly while the Kodak was way overdeveloped, as it was hard to see and dark. There's also a age difference, the Kodak Images where taken 24 years and the Fuji was just taken. I don't know if changes things.

Fresh vs. outdated would definitely be an issue with developing time and the outdated film could possibly be fogged from age or poor storage.  That said, different B&W films do tend to require different developing times and in some cases, different developers, to achieve optimal results.  There is a Massive Development Chart on line which gives developing times/chemistry for lots of films. I wouldn't claim that this is always correct but it will give you a general idea of what you should be doing with different films. Outdated films can be cheap but are often a gamble.

An historical note:  b&w reflects its 19th century heritage of a variety of processes and a done-by- hand ethos.  Color processing reflects its mid 20th century origin as a standardized machine made process.  There have been several variations over the years but virtually any color negative film from the last 40 years will go through a standard C-41 process with few variations in chemistry or temperature if you want conventional results.  Current slide films go through E-6, again with standard chemistry, times and temperature. If you want reasonably accurate color and density you need to follow these steps precisely. 

1 hour ago, randy_boren1 said:

Is this color film or black and white?

Colour films all have the same developing time, since both the C-41 and E6 colour processes are rigidly standardised.

OTOH, B&W film developing times can easily vary by 50% or more between different types in the same developer.