Too many digitals too fast

david_kaye

Even at the semi-pro level, the half life of digital SLRs seems to be 18-24 months. Consider the Nikon single digit top of the line film

cameras. The Nikon F was introduced in 1959. Coming forward 54 years to 2013, there has been just 6 Nikon pro film cameras during

that span.

In just a 3 year span (2005-2008), the D200, 300, and 700 received rave reviews. What has changed? Has our eyesight improved? not

mine. Are we all printing at billboard size? I max out at 12x18 inches, and have seen excellent prints at that size made from 5 megapixel

cameras.

I feel like I am missing out on something. Is this all driven by manufacturers, or are real needs being met? I am an engineer, and not a

Luddite. Is this just fallout from the digital age where we all battered by over-stimulation? I still enjoy a good book, at about the same

reading pace that I had 60 years ago.

<p>I had two F2 Photomics for 33 years, traded them in for two D70s bodies in 2006 when I knew that digital was where I wanted to be. I traded in those for two D300s bodies in 2011 because my photo jobs changed at that time. I don't see myself making another change for a long time, the D300s is more than enough for my level of professional work. I print 13 x 19, and 12.4 megapixels sure does look good. So I seem to fit your observation of the difference in longevity between film and digital cameras.</p>

<p>It's not just hype or planned obsolescence or any of the other familiar citations from the skeptic's guide to consumer goods.</p>