Using my 5D3

<p>I've had it for a week now and it's been fun to use. Usable photos at ISO 12,800, a cloud of autofocus points to choose (I prefer single point mode), Live View and faster frame rate like my 7D. (I've been using the 5D for several years now). What I don't like is the preview method. Why change it? I keep hitting the top right button on the back thinking I can enlarge my image. Also the Info button is near the viewfinder with a rate button in it's place. Huh? Rate button is useless for what I do. I do that in post after reviewing all the images. Anyways, cool camera. </p><div>00aQNB-468865584.jpg.577b9507f31c5bab3511a4ea26703134.jpg</div>

<p>Robert, who gives a crap about the shutter sound?</p>

<p>IQ at higher ISOs is much improved in the examples that I've seen and the fps and AF are leagus ahead of the MkII. If you only shoot scenics and portraits at ISO 100, then stick with the MkII, but if you want a better all round camera to shoot concerts, sports, wildlife, where high-ISO performance and excellent AF are critical, then the MkIII is the way to go, assuming you can afford it.</p>

<p>What impresses me so much about the mk III is the detail that is retained at high ISO's. Sure, the noise control is supurb, but as you crank up the ISO noise does become present. What amazes me is the sharpness and detail retention in spite of the noise.</p>

<p>Still noisy in the shadows if you try and lift them...especially at high ISOs - this ain't no Sony sensor...it is a slightly re-vamped 5D Mark ii sensor. By the way, the 5Dii as a refurb or from the Canon Loyalty program is (perhaps) the best deal in town right now.</p>

<p>Once I start shooting on a daily basis in Thailand/Nepal I can give better evaluation of AF performance vs. 5dii. (I shoot many raptors in flight - as well as smaller birds such as bee-eaters.) See my portfolio here for examples...</p>