Developing film and experimenting: Where to start?

willy_boots

<p>So, I'm new to developing black and white film. I want to develop negatives and make awesome prints like Salgado. Learning to play like Hendrix will have to wait I guess. <br>

I'm going to limit myself to Tri-x for now so I can try different developers and times and things. I have a fairly stable ambient temperature so that variable should be out pretty easily. My plan was to start with standard manufacturer development times and then vary them. I won't be sitting around shooting banana still-lifes though I want to actually be out there photographing things of more consequence than 'test negatives'. <br>

My main question is, can someone recommend how to start with this? What developer and what time, and then I'll go from there. I'd like to start with a technique that gives a nice snappy negative, nahmsayin'?<br>

Any suggestions on how to go about this process would be appreciated. Thanks!</p>

<p>Dear Ansel, Sup? Xtol would be my first choice for you, but HC110 is convenient and good too. To find times, check out the Massive Development Chart (MDC) at DigitalTruth.com, or as an app for your iPhone or Android. My only other suggestion is to consider using TMax instead of Tri-X, but I'd be nitpicking.</p>

<p>What you want to "nail" first is consistency. The ability to develop two rolls of film on different days, with the same exposure, and the same development time, to get measurably identical negatives. Until you can achieve that, your "experimentation" is really just a random walk.<br>