Photo Editing Software

<p>I've volunteered to teach a class on basic photo editing techniques. I had planned on using Photoshop as that's the most popular program. But the center I'm going to teach at has asked me to research and find another program that the students could find for around the $20-30 price range. Does anyone have a sugestion of a decent program that would meet this stipulation?</p>

<p>A fairly obvious choice would be <a href="http://www.gimp.org/">the GIMP</a> , which is open source (thus free) and cross-platform (Linux, Mac & Windows). As far as tiff / jpeg editing goes, it is probably the most powerful solution except photoshop (I mean the real one, not that half joke of elements). Its interface and ergonomics are on the other hand a bit particular and require some learning: it is not a program for absolute beginners, but neither is photoshop for this matter. But for a photoshop-centric person, it can feel quite unusual. The main limits of GIMP are in the lack of 16 bit support and of a decent support for color-managed printing. Also, its raw support is decent but far from great. Depending on what is your concept of "basic" techniques for these classes, these can be problems or not.<br>

Cheers</p>

<p>L.</p>

<p>The GIMP is not what I'd throw at beginners. The horrid user interface is unlike most anything else they're likely to use in terms of user interface conventions, it can't handle RAW files, etc. Remember: he's talking about "basic" instruction - and that open source project shows its roots as a developer's beast, not a tool meant for casual users.</p>

<p>Matt,<br>