Ashamed ...

Before you read this, please understand that I'm not asking you to look at my portfolio, in fact, I'd prefer that

you don't. I'm just trying to get some honest feedback from others who participate in the forum.

Am I alone here? The longer I'm on PN, the more inept I feel. There are so many wonderful photographers who

present such WONDERFUL work that I'm often left feeling terribly ashamed of my sad attempts. I'm self-taught and

have never taken a formal class in photography. (Community classes only seem to reach remedial photogs.) I read

and try to understand, but sometimes it's like I'm reading Greek--I don't have too many "Ah ha!" moments. I can see

the picture in my mind, I can see the picture through the lens, but it never makes it into the camera. I'm left

wondering if it's technique or equipment, but never put my finger on it. The other day I attempted to shoot a freshly-

mowed hay field (just before the bundles were rolled). I caught it just before sunset and the light seemed perfect. I

tried several different angles and camera settings, bracketing, etc., but when I got home, I found flaws in everything--

grey hazy sky that detracted from the field, bluish looking rows of hay--yuck!

I'm just wondering if I'm the only one who feels like this? What about those who have been on PN for years: Did you

ever feel like that? Has your work improved or do you just have the natural ability and talent?

There will always be people that are better than you. Always. This is a fact of life. Many people accept this and still work towards improving their images.

[[...have never taken a formal class in photography. (Community classes only seem to reach remedial photogs.)]]

How do you know this if you've never actually taken a photography class?

[[i'm left wondering if it's technique or equipment,]]

As the photographer is the one responsible for image capture, I don't see how it could be anything but the photographers responsibility.