Advice you wish you had when you began photog.

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by rebecca_fowler|1, Jan 25, 2008.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm new here to photo.net, and actually I'm new to b&w photography too. I'm
    just finishing up building my darkroom and I'm starting to get overwhelmed with
    all the choices of equipment and supplies. I was just curious if anyone had
    some advice they'd like to pass on that would've made their voyage into
    photography a little more pleasant. Any advice will be more than appreciated.
    Thanks so much!

-Rebecca

P.S. I did search the website to make sure nothing like this has been posted, if
    it has feel free to point me in the right direction and delete this.

2. No piece of gear will make you a better photographer - only making lots of photos and learning , possibly with input of people you respect for their vision, to edit tightly will.

3. Ellis makes a great point! It is true that the photographer takes/makes the photo, but I would add to buy the best equipment YOU can.

Read all you can, take photo classes at local colleges/arts centers, go to photo exhibits/art galleries and look at other peoples work. Don't necessarily copy their work, but learn from it and perhaps improve on it.

Most of all, go out and take all the photos you can, but, make them all good ones!

4. If you can not see it, you can not photograph it,so work on your awareness level.

5. Gear has a big influence on final image quality, there can be no doubt about that. Get the
    best you can afford, stick to one film/developer combination and go take pictures.

6. Maybe keep it simple at first. One film, one format. Your work flow will become a snap. Good suggestions above about "seeing and "educating". Also maybe find a style and subject matter that appeals to you. A passion for the subject will show in the end results.

7. Be yourself.

Read and look a lot (art, photography). Absorb ideas and choose those that fit your
    approach.