Advice you wish you had when you began photog.

Hi everyone,

I'm new here to photo.net, and actually I'm new to b&w photography too. I'm

just finishing up building my darkroom and I'm starting to get overwhelmed with

all the choices of equipment and supplies. I was just curious if anyone had

some advice they'd like to pass on that would've made their voyage into

photography a little more pleasant. Any advice will be more than appreciated.

Thanks so much!

-Rebecca

P.S. I did search the website to make sure nothing like this has been posted, if

it has feel free to point me in the right direction and delete this.

Ellis makes a great point! It is true that the photographer takes/makes the photo, but I would add to buy the best equipment YOU can.

Read all you can, take photo classes at local colleges/arts centers, go to photo exhibits/art galleries and look at other peoples work. Don't necessarily copy their work, but learn from it and perhaps improve on it.

Most of all, go out and take all the photos you can, but, make them all good ones!

Maybe keep it simple at first. One film, one format. Your work flow will become a snap. Good suggestions above about "seeing and "educating". Also maybe find a style and subject matter that appeals to you. A passion for the subject will show in the end results.

Be yourself.

Read and look a lot (art, photography). Absorb ideas and choose those that fit your

approach.

Ask specific questions where answers might aid you to overcome a problem or

unknown (PN is pretty good for that, most of us like to share experience).

I suppose you have a camera of some sort already. However, it is a lot more enjoyable to deal with rollfilm when enlarging. Each format has its challenges, but the larger the negative, the easier it is to print.

I didn't get to 4X5 until I was 66, but that meant getting an enlarger and a good way to develop sheets. I now use an expert drum for developing and a gravity system for washing.