Canon R6 Mark II...

hjoseph7

Is there any reason not to get the Canon R6 mark II ? It seems that Canon has refined and improved almost everything on the previous R6 mark I. The specs on this camera blows everything Canon ever built out of the water and it's only an enthusiast camera ! For a little under $2000 and 760 shots per battery charge is there any reason not to upgrade from a wimpy DSLR ? 

It actually costs $2,499 at B&H today and I think you will need a lens or 2 or 3.  Canon in it’s infinite wisdom has locked out third party AF lenses (Sigma and Tamron) from the R mount so it’s those bargain Canon RF “L” lenses to the rescue. 

it seems like a really nice camera system but it’s not cheap and there is lot’s of competition

I suspect the target market for this is not so much people looking to upgrade from a 6D but people looking to upgrade from something older and/or lower in the product line.  For instance, I'm a hobbyist shooting with a 7D, and if a new body was in the cards for me (which it isn't at this time), I think Canon has pretty much nailed it with the 6D II.  Not that the 6D wasn't good, but I think they're closer to the bullseye with their second shot.  If I already had a 6D, then I definitely wouldn't be upgrading; there's nowhere near enough there to make it worth the cost.

It's on my Christmas gift list, alongside other things nobody will ever give me like a new car, but hey, a boy can dream, right?  And if 2023 is a good year for me financially, then I'm probably trading up to a 6D II late next year (and two of my lenses are full-frame so they'll work just fine).

results will be similar to a 6DII. Will you need fancy AF?

The AF is in my mind the biggest issue, since I don't shoot video. If you do work that involves tracking, the R6 II will be orders of magnitude better than the 6D II. If you are shooting landscape or real estate, that fabulous AF will do you no good whatever.