Chrome vs Black lens?

attilio_dp

<p>I'd suppose the chrome versions to be older and (maybe) somewhat inferior to the black ones. - At least thats the case with Mamiya TLR lenses.<br>

Schneider have been around for ages and rather suggest binning their old (50s / 60s?) stuff instead of getting it refurbished. Thats what I am recalling from when my G-Claron needed a shutter CLA some 10 years ago.<br>

I have barely used my (of course) old Schneider LF lenses, but judging the one in my Retina II, I'm confident they 'll take pictures. - Sorry about the somewhat vague answer. I am an amateur and see LF as a hobby (option). - If you are seriously quality obsessed, I am sure it makes sense to get into details and published specs and maybe even contact Schneider's customer service. </p>

<p>This is actually an interesting question. When you say 'chrome ring', I assume you're talking about the metal housing of the front cell, which is chrome or black in different lenses.</p>

<p>A quick look at current ebay listings shows that the black-mount 121s tend to be newer, but the demarcation isn't clear-cut. For example, there's a 1969 lens with a chrome mount, and a 1968 Technika-badged lens with a black mount. By and large, though, it looks like Schneider changed the mount livery around the late 1960s.<em><br /></em></p>

<p>You can't make inferences on lens quality from the lens mount, other than that older lenses are, well, older. Buy on condition, and if you're patient, wait for a later multicoated lens to turn up. According to Schneider's website, they started multicoating the f/8 S-As in late 1978, which corresponds to a serial number of about 13400000. None of the 121s on ebay right now is multicoated.</p>