Taking pictures at Concerts and Recitals

alma_jimenez

<p>Hello, I'm new to the DSLR world used to have point and shoot cameras but want to learn more. I currently have a Nikon D3200 which I learn something new everyday that I use it. I usually like to take pictures of nature, sunsets or my kids playing outside. My oldest child is in Jazz band at school and I've tried so many times to take pictures of him but they come out so dark. We are not allowed to use flash b/c it distracts the other kids so I was wondering if there are any tips for taking "good" pictures of him without having to use a flash. Any good lenses? He's a senior so I only have 2 more chances to take a decent picture of him when he's performing :(</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Alma</p>

<p>There's no reason for dark pictures at a recital. Blurry, perhaps, or too far away to see faces. If anything, faces are too bright against a dark background, and are washed out as a result. A wide-range consumer level zoom, with a maximum of 200 or 300 mm will provide reasonable detail from the audience. (Head and shoulders would require 600-700 mm).</p>

<p>Try using aperture priority, and an ISO of 1200 or greater. For non-critical pictures (and very few are critical), auto-ISO is a good choice too. The shutter speed should fall somewhere around the reciprocal of the focal length. For example, a 200 mm lens will usually give acceptable results at 1/200 second (shorter if you have image stabilization).</p>

<p>If exposures are wacky, use the camera in manual mode, at the widest aperture, and set the exposure for faces, using the spot meter mode. In my experience, this won't be necessary.</p>

<p>From the data recorded in the image, you used Samsung P&S camera, 1/8 second at f/5.9, ISO 800. The focal length was 86.10 mm (483 mm FF equivalent).</p>