Filters For Snow scenes?

d_f11

<p>I like dark skies produced by a combo of red & polarising filters for scenics. Now that the ground is covered in snow, what effect would these two filters have on it? My guess is If I want the snow to look real, I'll have to give up the filters(filter effect) thereby rendering the sky plain(boring)...but wait...clouds are white...they stay white with these two filters so why not the snow also...? Forgive me - I'm still learning B&W.</p>

<p>If you are on a high mountain the polariser will give you quite dark blue sky, specially if the sun is forming 90º with your camera axe. The elimination of reflected light lows a bit the whole contrast. If you add a red one I guess you will get a black sky and high contrast. I would definitely pull the development.<br>

When I print white snow I feel I need to give it a little burn with the 4# filter. Hope you can figure out the proper exposition though!</p>

<p> </p>