How do you excel at photography?

sravan

<p>I am not a Pro and am not planning to be a Pro and so I am not talking about specialization in one field of Photography.<br>

When comparing photos of the masters and those 99% on flickr, the things that capture me are<br>

1. Clarity of subject. Means to me to make sure the eye is drawn to the subject easily.<br>

2. Composition. Means to me that the extraneous items to the story of the photo are minimized and the composition is pleasing.<br>

Now these three are more about the creativity of the photographer. Not being a very creative person natively, i struggle at these and I try to practice as much as I can to get better as I believe there is no shortcut to greatness.</p>

<p>So with creativity being hard for me I am turning to the technical aspects of photography to differentiate myself from those around me (Those who are not Photography enthusiasts). To me things I can work on easily are:<br>

1. Good Exposure. Means to me that the details that you want to show are clear while the details not germane are hidden in plain sight.<br>

2. Good Lighting. Means to me use shadows and highlights to hide what you dont want. Use lighting to the fullest extent to the end goal of your vision. (even if that vision is a copy of somebody else's work)<br>

3. Better photos straight out of camera with minimal photoshop. I am not a purist and I believe most photos do require a bit of post processing and leaving the post processing to the camera is like leaving the development to the corner photo store machine. So using raw and doing small tweaks are ok in my book. So my preferred choice is to use lightroom where the possibilities are much more limited than photoshop and to me fall better on the "post processing" side than on the "create new art from photos" side of the fence. (remember I am not a creative type).<br>