Imacon or Nikon 9000???

<p>Hi everyone<br>

I am a serious amateur and shoot mostly BW. I have owned two Nikon Coolscan 4000ED for 6 years and they both recently went bust at the same time: something burnt inside (I believe as a result of problems in my Mac G4 which also had a number of ports gone bust). To repair both of them will cost me around US$ 1000 (in Italy).<br>

I now also shoot medium format and think that the best way to go is not to repair the 4000EDs but go for a much better scanner. I often need to print 40*60 cm for exhibitions, so I am hesitating between a Nikon 9000 or an Imacon (or alternatives). Operating a real drum scunner scares me.<br>

My available budget could be in the order of around US$ 10.000.<br>

Any views/recommendations?<br>

Thanks and regards</p>

<p>Olivio Argenti (ARPS)<br>

<a href="http://www.olivioargenti.it">www.olivioargenti.it</a></p>

<p>With Ur budget, Olivio, U will most likely not be able to get a <em>top of line</em> Imacon with an integrated <strong>diffuse</strong>r. Therefore U might as well go for the 9000. With ICE + all the other trimmings. If U could manage to squeeze more out of Ur budget; Imacon. No contest.</p>

<p>I have a drum scanner, and although excellent results they are slow, tedoius and parts and consumables and drums are high.<br>

Only reason I would get a drum scanenr is if you need to scan large format or over 4000 dpi<br>

I would get a 9000 and the glass carrier.</p>

<p>How many MF originals do you expect to scan? It might be more cost effective to repair the 4000ED for 35mm work, and get Imacon scans made for you from MF. I spend about £10 for max res Imacon scans in 16bit, hand cleaned in PS. You can get a lot of those done for $10000, or even for the lower price of the Nikon 9000. </p>