Do you "admit" to being a photographer?

LindaM

<p>I was recently reading an exchange between two very talented PN members. One stated that he just might be turning into a "real" photographer. The other shared his reluctance to say that he is a photographer. I can relate to both of these gentlemen. I have an expensive camera and an arsenal of lenses, but if anyone asks me if I am a photographer, I tend to make excuses and usually end up saying something along the line of "it's just an expensive hobby." I am not a "professional" photographer, but I occasionally do some freelance work, and I often use my photography in my job publishing a regional thoroughbred magazine. I think my denial of being a "real" photographer comes down to lack of confidence in my skills and level of knowledge. So I am curious, how many of you when asked are proud to say you are a photographer, or do you shy away from admitting you are one?</p>

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Out of curiosity, do you have a link to this discussion?</p>

<p>I am wondering what actually constitutes a "real" photographer. You don't have to be a professional photographer to be a "real" one. However, having a lot of equipment does not necessarily make you one either though. It' is what you do with it, rather than how much you have.</p>

<p>I do a fair amount of for hire work, but not full time as I don't want to have to work that hard to maintain my current standard of living I enjoy with my job. Besides, then it becomes more like work and less like fun. But if someone asks me if I am a photographer, I don't hesitate to say yes, and hand them a business card, which I carry a bunch of in my pocket all the time. :-)</p>

<p>Linda,</p>