Do you have to do your own printing?

<p >How do you feel about printing your own shots? Of course these days that just means making your images viewable, and presentable in some way, as apposed to having someone else do them. I have always felt that processing, and printing was so much a part of photography, that if I was unable to make my own prints, it hardly worth spending the time to shoot. There was a point in my photographic life when this actually happened to me (<a href="http://www.squidoo.com/tandwcafepress">Click here to read full story</a> ). I think, in my case, this is because I started print making at an early age, at about the same time I started shooting.</p>

<p > </p>

<p >I wonder if there are a lot of photographers who feel as I do on that subject. What's your spin on the whole, “shoot, and print" philosophy? </p>

<p>I do my own fine art prints and have done so now for about half a year. It took me a month of experimenting and researching to get the process down to a state where I am very satisfied with the results. And I am speaking as someone with a strong background in print and color management.</p>

<p>Now, I cannot imagine sending out images for printing unless I need something large.</p>

<p>The advantage is that I now have total control over the photograph's lifecycle: capture, edit, print. The disadvantage is that I now have total control over thephotograph's lifecycle.</p>

<p>It's added more time to my schedule and I shoot less but I am at a point where that is a good thing. Shooting digitally made me a lazy photographer. I could shoot a lot, delete the bad frames (yes, I still refer to them as frames) and keep the rest. Digitally shooting, I was keeping less than 5% at the worst point.</p>