I was shock today.

rothelle

<p>Today I went to my local camera shop in Palo Alto to find that 120 Tri-X went up in price again from $3.89 to $4.89. HP5+ is now from $2.89 to $3.89 and Fuji Neopan from $2.69 to $3.09. So I did something new. I got 10 roll of HP5+ 20 rolls of Neopan 400 and some DDX film developer. I shot a few roll of HP5+ as I'm not new to any of these films. But what I am new to is I put away my PMK, HC-110 and Zonal Pro and used the DDX. I was SHOCK! what this developer has poped out of my negs. I was a die heart Tri-X and Plus-X and any thing that was not that was second or not a waste of my time. But that just might have to change. Not looking for times or ISO rating. I still have all that down as I have used these films before and from time to time I pick up one or two rolls. I maybe picking more rolls up as not only the price is rigt but the quality too.</p>

<p>Glad you were able to find a ray of light and inspiration to continue rather than become too frustrated over the harsh realities of the economy. I've long suspected that b&w film photography will become more expensive, mostly a boutique item for artists and devotees. But my other artistic hobby, painting, is awfully expensive too. No avoiding that.</p>

<p>HP5+ is a beautiful film, very easy to work with and delivers outstanding results with a bit more generous exposure, around EI 250-320. It doesn't impose any particular or unique look, but is responsive to the photographer, like a good instrument.</p>

<p>I haven't used DDX but am a fan of Microphen, which some folks who've used both say deliver fairly comparable results. Some of these developers are surprisingly versatile, delivering both true full speed and fine grain, along with user friendly characteristics for push processing and difficult films or exposure situations.</p>