What is so good about Rangefinders.

zafar1

Hi

I am new to photography have recently learned about Range finders. I am

interested in learning about what is the deal with range finders, specially as

compared to other 35mm cameras (e.g. SLR).

I can get matter of fact description of technology but I can't get the real

scoop on why people use range finders and under what conditions is this a

favorable format.

That little mirror in an SLR is very expencive in things which get in the way of the image making process; mechanical complexity, noise, weight and bulk. A rangefinder doesn't get between the lens and image recording surface, which has another bonus of better WA lens designs.

When you're on a rangefinder forum, questioning the value of the rangefinder versus SLR designs seems to be like questioning deeply held convictions. Actually, the complexity of a good rangefinder camera is comparable to that of an SLR, especially when the camera may have additional optics to correct for parallax and the field size of different lenses, and light metering. After all, in an SLR, what you see in the viewfinder is what the film sees since you are looking through whatever lens is attached up front. With an SLR, you never have to wait to find that you have terrible lens flare or inadequate DOF.

The mirror that sits in the optical path before firing the shutter is relatively minor and in no way should interfere with the view from either the photographer or from the the film's POV. Whereas, rangefinders present a view that only emulates that seen by the film. You could have the cap on the lens while shooting for all the camera cares.