What computer will make me a better programmer?

freeside

Hi, I'm just getting into computers and would like to be a famous programmer one day. I

am very impressed by the stories I've heard of great programmers who struck it rich, like

Marc Andreesen or Bill Gates. That is what I want to do.

What kind of computer should I buy to become a great programmer?

A dual CPU platform seems like it would compile programs faster, and I think the screen

should be at least

21 inches (LCD of course) so I can write longer lines of code. A search on Google doesn't

really say what kind of keyboard

programmers tend to prefer, besides the Happy Hackers keyboard, but I haven't actually

met any programmers who use it; most programmers I know just use an ordinary

keyboard, though sometimes the hands are separated like with the Natural Keyboard. But

one guy I know assures me that no great programmer ever knew how to touch type, and

those keyboards are for losers only.

In addition, I will install a home network. Should I get a gigabit ethernet hub or are there

advantages to 802.11g? Both seem to have their pros and cons. What do

programmers out there prefer?

To complicate matters further, I am told there is a difference between Windows, Mac OS,

and the Unixes like Linux and BSD. I met an Apple lover who swears that OS X is too slow,

but when I introduced him to an OpenBSD advocate, the two of them couldn't even agree

on anything besides "Bill Gates is the devil." Everyone tells me I have to choose a platform

and stick to it. I didn't know programming was so complicated!

One really old programmer said that I should just start out in an 80x25 terminal coding in

assembly just like he did. He keeps talking about programmers had to make do with so

few resources in the early days, and I respect him for that. But wouldn't it just be easier

with a faster machine and a GUI? Besides, text at 80x25 seems like it would be just too

big on a 21" display.