How To Meter Back-lit Translucent Subject?

What type of film?  How will you display the images (printing / web / screen?), how will you process the images (wet darkroom, third party lab, scan negatives and use imaging software?).  I'm not an expert on all this stuff, but it may help getting an answer you can use.

I would imagine the translucent object would be metered first up, then meter the other parts of the scene to check for exposure range over the whole scene. If the exposure range is more than two stops, you might need to do some burning and/or dodging.

The general rule for backlit subjects is to open up the aperture one stop to one and a half stops from the average meter reading of the whole scene, but with something translucent, it might be advisable to meter the more "solid" or darker bits of the translucent object and expose for them.

This is my 2cents worth, I'm only going by instinct, I've shot backlit scenes before, but nothing that involved translucent subjects. Experienced members would know more than I do, fortunately.

Edited by kmac

I would use a spot meter on the translucent objects and pick what Zone you want them to wind up as in your prints. The spot meter could also give you an idea as to how bright the background will be.  Remember that the spot meter will give you a reading to give you middle grey in the print, so if you want the translucent object to be lighter you will have to give it more exposure. 

• Like 1

Its been a few decades since I used Tri-X (or any film), but I would probably meter the darkest area that you would want to see detail and let the latitude of the film take care of the highlight areas.  Obviously, printing will require appropriate dodging and burning in. You may have a dense negative but all the detail should be there.

• Like 1