Cloud and Sky Contrast in B/W Prints

danac

For me light clouds and dark skies really make a good landscape great. As AA used to say: "The blue dome is boring." My scanned negatives demonstrate that I'm getting  this nice cloud to sky contrast but when I make the prints the clouds and sky wash out. With my condenser enlarger I use the individual Ilford color filter cards (0 through five in half steps). I'm fairly new at using these. Which direction should I go with them to get the above effect without unduly sacrificing gray tone contrast?  I usually start with a two and go down for less contrast and up for more but the cloud/sky contrast is not really affected. Maybe I need to go to more extremes but which direction? Of course this is far less of a problem when the images were taken with anything darker than a #8 yellow lens filter. Many of my images in the old days were made without a filter or just a circular polarizer though.

Edited by danac
divine infusion
A book's a great place to hide out in - Trevanian

It's an interesting problem and I enjoy the challenge. Funny thing is, my old smaller Beseler Cadet didn't have this problem and I didn't even bother with colored enlarger filters back then. The Printmaker 67 does. I do burn the sky in whenever desirable but when you are making landscapes of mountains the horizon not a straight line.

A book's a great place to hide out in - Trevanian