Portrait Tents

lottie_hope

I thought it might be fun to offer fast fun portraits at my kids' school summer fair, (outside) and then set up again in October, probably in the school hall so they can have photos taken in their Halloween costumes.

I have zero experience with the pop up portrait tents, but I'm imagining thats the way to go, for speed and space requirements.

Does anyone with experience have a recommendation on a good pop up tent? And would the same one be useable outdoors as well as inside, or does leaky daylight cause messy results if I were to use this in the playground during the day?

Any suggestions gratefully received - Thank you!

Lottie

No personal experience. Red flag in my head: A bunch of kids demands a lot of static and general safety precautions plus liability insurance coverage...

Dunno what kind of lights you have and how much power you could get outdoors. The tents l know seem to benefit from getting pegged to the ground and require extra lines (AKA tripping hazards) to withstand wind. Dealing with kids I 'd love to avoid light stands.

How do you plan the outdoor use? As a white diffusor or to cast shade?

I 'd contact manufacturers for specs. While sufficiently sturdy tents surely exist, I wouldn't be eager to haul them or set them up.

Not done this in a tent, but I've set up a photo 'booth' at wedding receptions. With 3 speedlights, two in softboxes on stands as left-right clamshell lighting, and the other to blow out a white cloth backdrop.

Unavoidably, there were kids at the events. Not much hassle keeping them clear of the lighting stands - they're boisterous, not stupid. The only issue I had was a family who wanted to get their money's worth (despite it being free to guests) by trying to squeeze all 5 of their kids onto two chairs set out for singles and couples. Needless to say I ran out of backdrop and had to white out the BG in post. Hopefully that won't be an issue for you.