i need advise buying flash gun pls

dennis_labao

<p>hello, i am still a newbie in photography and need to know what is a good flash gun for a mid budget price, i am using a canon 70d and need to know if its worth to buy a canon speed light or if a third party brand would do ? if so what is a good fit for my 70d for a mid budget price, and also i dont really understand much about the technicality of a flash gun at the moment ( but im pretty sure i will learn it as soon as i get my hands on it ) but for now i really want to know what flash should i be buying.<br>

would really appreciate a good advise please.<br /> thank you very much</p>

<p>Hi dennis - from years of flash use, the best thing you could do, so as to not waste money, is to really analyze what you want to do with the flash. That means you need to familiarize yourself with capabilities and uses, and determine what your budget is. Most manufacturer's consumer units will work fine for most of their needs, but if you move into things like portraiture, product shots and macro shots, you need to ensure your flash will have the flexibility to effectively provide what you need. At the very least, I would recommend a flash unit which has a moveable(vertical and rotational) head, wide coverage with a diffuser, and manual as well as TTL or automatic modes. Many today take rechargeable batteries as well as off the shelf ones. I like ones which use readily obtainable batteries available in any town or city. That way I'm always assured of fresh batteries wherever I go. You don't have to spend a fortune to get these features, but you do need to do some independent research to ensure you get what you really need and want.</p>