What to Charge - 4 hour gig

<p>Have a potential gig...<br>

- a wedding anniversary (less than 10 yrs I believe)<br>

- the person wants to hire a photographer for 4 hours<br>

- The location is a night club (private party area).<br>

- She wants photos to be taken for the 4 hours.<br>

- She wants the pictures on a disc, which I do not have a problem with. I will give her edited shots, in both color and B&W.<br>

- I will have to park my car (it's in a downtown entertainment area), so I'll have to throw that in as a minor cost.<br>

- My wife works with this lady<br>

- I am sure she is getting quotes from others.<br>

I'm just starting out, so not a lot of experience in charging an appropriate amount.<br>

My time (estimate):<br>

(1 hr) drive to location / park / scope out / setup<br>

(4 hrs) at least to shoot<br>

(3 to 4 hrs) post processing<br>

Advice on what to charge is greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>I don't think anyone here can answer your question except for you. </p>

<p>You need to determine how much your time, effort, etc... are worth vs the cost or gains of not getting the gig. </p>

<p>Also - you don't mention what city, country or area you're in. That will also make a difference. In the midwest US - prices for what you're talking about go from free to $1,000 +. In New York it probably goes up to $5,000 + . Your rate will depend on the location of yourself and the event. If you're struggling - check out the competition's websites and see what they would charge. </p>

<p>If you're concerned about her being a co-worker of your wife's then pass on the gig or give her a quote showing both a base price and a discounted one since she is a co-worker. </p>

<p>Dave</p>

<blockquote>

<p><em>"I'm just starting out, so not a lot of experience in charging an appropriate amount."</em></p>

</blockquote>