Ilfrod HP5+ in D76 problem

<p>Hello,<br>

I need a little help here. I'm a starting developer and I've recently bought HP5+ and developed it today and the film came out totaly blank. I used kodak D-76 at 20°C, 7,5min @ iso 400, agitation every 30 sec. I did everything as usual when films came out very well but this time I have no clue. May it be overdeveloped or it's a bad film? bacause film states 2004 on sides but I bought it new in Ilford 2+1 pack about a month ago.<br>

Thanks for your opinions.</p>

<p>If the film is blank then it was not developed at all were there any edge markings? If not well you went fixer first or the camera is dead..... Take a piece of exposed film put it in the developer in daylight and see if it turns black.. if it does not well you fixerd first or well bad developer....</p>

<p>well, I've put same film, cut from begining before developing and it really turned black, and I am pretty sure that I've used developer first because these bottles are marked. And film edge is blank too. But when film is developed too much it will turn completely white or black? I use older thermometer so I'm wondering if this is not the problem. Or maybe my FA is really dead but I hope it isn't.</p>

"But when film is developed too much it will turn completely white or black?"

Neither. The shadow areas (that would appear black on a print) would appear clear on the film. No light struck those areas triggering the silver halides of the film emulsion so there is nothing for the developer to work on, You could keep the film in the developer for an hour and nothing would happen there, Just the highlights and middle areas would get darker and darker on the film.

If no light struck the film, it would be completely clear except for the edge markings (film code and frame numbers).

If too much light struck the film it would be black except for the edge and markings. .