Red Blind Films + Skin Tones + BW

<p>Hi, I am new to film in general, literally have shot less than 10 rolls. <br>

I was wondering if red blind film would achieve dark, moody skin tones. I remember reading something about this a year or two ago, and i've been very curious to try it out for some fashion photography. If so, what are the options in terms of red blind films, or films that are substantially less sensitive to reds (B/W obviously).</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>How slow would you you say slow is? I would personally like to get something in the 400 range, but it sounds like we are talking 100 speed?</p>

<p>Larry I'm looking forward to making my models mad at me! I would be shooting the film then scanning, then retouching, so I'm sure I can get by! </p>

<p>But, what are the film names and brands?</p>

<p>Yeah, having a cyan filter will save you a bundle in film costs. It will also allow you to use faster film. You could even use a digital (in BW mode) to practice on.</p>

<p>It's kinda funny that all BW film starts off as ortho and they have to add sensitizers to make it pan, but charge you more "not to do that".</p>

<p>Will a cyan filter have the effect I'm looking for? At the end of the day I'm trying to navigate away from digital, far far way, I've realize it is more valuable to shoot film for me, in many ways, one of the most important is how film treats tonality and the lack of black and white clipping (depending on the film)</p>

<blockquote>

<p>I was wondering if red blind film would achieve dark, moody skin tones.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>It will show every skin defect, even those that aren't readily visible by eye. Every single pimple, bump, pore, and local shading difference gets enhanced. It's great for that weathered fisherman; not so good for a flattering portrait of your girl friend.</p>

<p> </p>