sodium vs. ammonium

<p>I have been mixing my own chemicals for a couple years now with good results, however, it doesn't appear economical to mix fixer because Kodak fixer costs about half the price of sodium thiosulfate! I have read that c-41 fixer, at 9 bucks for 5 gallons, is the best way to go, even for black and white. I don't mind mixing powders because I have a stirring hot plate, my main interest is long shelf life. In Anchell's, The Film Developing Cookbook, 1998, he states fairly strongly that I shouldn't be using sodium thiosulfate because it can't fix iodide. However, in The Darkroom Cookbook, 2008, he says the only practical difference in sodium and ammonium thiosulfate is time. He seems to have backed away from his earlier opinion. Can anyone confirm that sodium thiosulfate is fine to use, just slower? Also, if I go with c-41 fixer, how good is the shelf life? Thanks for the help.</p>

<p>The problem going to the punchline is that with modern films there is a tendency to underfix using sodium thiosulfate hypo. Honestly I see little reason to use it instead of liquid (amonium thiosulate) fixer. I use the stuff as supplied for minilabs as they are cheaper and have more neutral pH than the stuff sold for "B&W". The shelf life of C-41 fixer--- like nearly all mini-lab chemicals--- is very good--- in fact, due to their pH, much longer than those sold for "B&W".</p>