Short question on Film storage - Refrigerate or Freeze?

<p>i'm kind of new to film (been trying for the past year) and not sure what is the proper way to store it. is it a good practice to put unopened film boxes in the freezer for extended periods of time - like a few months? or should i just keep them in refrigerator? i have a couple dozen rolls of various film (Superia Reala, Neopan 1600, Astia, Kodachrome 64) and i've been keeping in the refrigerator, but recently read somewhere that the person was freezing film. could somebody clarify this for me.<br>

thank you.</p>

<p>Freezing is better for long-term. If you are using the film within a month or two, refrigeration is fine. Some nonprofessional films, <em>if purchased very fresh</em> , should be left at room temperature for a while to allow them to age into their peak performance. Films labeled "Professional" should always be refrigerated or frozen as soon as you get them.</p>

<p>How long?:<br /> until the canister or wrapper no longer feels cold to the touch. For frozen film, somebody here suggested taking out an ice cube at the same time and waiting until it is melted. The danger is condensation inside the film cassette or roll with spots on the film, etc.</p>

<p>Fresh?:<br /> It's hard to tell, but the best indication is how far off the "use before" date on the box is. If it's coming up real soon, you don't need to worry about "freshness."<br /> It's always a good idea to check the use before date anyhow these days of slow sales for film. I have seen lots of film in stores recently that is already past the date. That may not be a problem, but you shouldn't be paying "fresh" prices for it.</p>