Microphen alternative?

bob_mcbob

<p>I just got back into shooting black and white film after a long hiatus. I used to do a lot of Tri-X pushed in Microphen, which is a great combo. I know Ilford stopped producing the 1 gallon boxes, which makes it quite significantly more expensive to use. Even at 1:1 it's pretty expensive as b/w developers go, and I don't particularly want to start re-using developer. As a matter of fact, it's actually more expensive per roll than DD-X, which is just crazy to me!</p>

<p>Is there another speed enhancing developer I can buy in Canada (Henry's, Vistek) that would provide similar results? I will also be shooting Neopan 1600, which I've never tried before, so I'd be using it for that, too.</p>

<p>P.S. I still have a couple of unmixed 1 gallon boxes that I bought right after they were discontinued. Will these be any good?</p>

<p>For pushing 35mm TMY or Tri-X (usually to 1600), I reused Microphen stock solution for 10 rolls per liter of stock. Not sure how economical that is but it worked for me.</p>

<p>Other than DD-X you might try Acufine, Diafine (good for Tri-X, not for T-Max - IMO only - but with a very different look than Microphen). Others report good results from Xtol and T-Max developers.</p>

<p>The unopened packages of Microphen should still be good. In normal storage conditions most powders remain good for several years.</p>