T-MAX 400 developing: T-MAX Developer vs. HC-110

tree

<p>Greetings,<br>

My darkroom instructor told me that you cannot develop T-MAX 400 (120) in HC-110 (Dilution B in our case), rather you have to use TMAX developer. My reading of the Kodak data sheets indicates otherwise: that you can use HC-110 with T-MAX. So my question is this: am I asking for trouble developing the T-MAX in HC-110, or will I be OK?<br>

Thanks in advance for your sage advice.<br>

Tom</p>

<p>I agree with the others. I have been using HC110 with TMax for quite a few years with good results. As with any developer, just keep an eye on the temperature/time combination, exercise good control and be consistent in your methods. I still make it a practice to note my exposure and then couple that with the time/temperature combination and note the effects. That way, I can make a more intelligent choice as to what has to be adjusted to produce the results I want. <br>

Just be consistent. Also, it is okay to break the "rules" once in a while -- after you understand them, of course. That is how discoveries are made and it is how you develop your personal "vision."<br>

I hope this helps. Good luck in your endeavors.</p>

<p>Maybe your instructor told you that for good reason. At least I'd like to give him or her the benefit of doubt, even though I'd probably take issue with the fact that I hadn't been told why. HC-110 certainly is not at the top of my list of preferred developers for TMax films, but it will work. XTOL or D-76 are the top two for me. Both deliver beautiful negatives that are very easy to print. HC-110 is too active, at dilution "B", and TMax films too sensitive to over development, to make the process easily controllable. If you're not comfortable with the process yet, things can spin out of control; leaving you with negatives that have very dense highlights that can be a difficult to print with any detail.</p>

<blockquote>