Lens for "unaware" people and street photography

I've had a Canon 10D for years and I love taking photos with it. I've found that if I've got the thing in front of my face

pointing it around like I'm shooting, I miss a lot of candid shots because it intimidates folks.

I'm a student and spend about 8 hours a day around the same 70 people. I'd like to start grabbing shots of us all and

I'm looking for the right lens and technique to grab the shots I want.

I'm thinking wide angle. If I have the camera over my shoulder on a strap and it looks like I'm just holding it next to

my torso, people assume I'm not taking pictures and they act normal. I think shots like this, not perfectly composed

and level with the horizon with a wide angle perspective look pretty cool.

I wish I could get a lens with a depth of field scale so I could just set the aperture and shoot for the required depth of

focus, but on EF lenses, depth of field scales are only marked with f stops on primes, usually only show f/22 and are

about two millimeters long between the closest focus and infinity.

I'm thinking about getting the Tamron 17-35 (which I know isn't a real wide angle on a crop body) and hoping for the

best. I hear the instruction manual comes with a description of depth of field settings, so at least I can work with the

desired focus depth. I've had the Zenitar 16mm fisheye which had a good depth of field scale, but I just didn't like the

fishy look, so I sold it.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a lens that might better suit my needs, and I have nothing wrong with using an old

manual lens that can fit an EOS body with an adapter. I'm mostly looking for shots in focus from 2 feet to about 10

or 15 feet, and occaisonally having more of the distance in sharper focus. I'm thinking most shots will be indoors and

will need a fast maximum aperture, hence the need for wide angle to get the most depth of field and need the slowest