Tips for Landscape Photography

mark amy

Hello all,

Tomorrow I'm going to the mountains for a few days and there will be excellent

opportunities for landscape photos and I'm worried about messing them up!

I'm not a total newbie, but I just got my first DSLR, the Nikon D80, back in

August and I still find that my mind seems to go blank when I'm faced with

something I want to take a picture of and I think, do I leave it on P to be on

the safe side or go for A or S for aperture and shutter priority.

The weather forecast is good for one day and cloudy for another day so, if that

does turn out then it will be a good variety. I have the Nikkor 18-200mm VR lens

and the Sigma 10-20mm lens and a tripod. I don't have a polarising filter.

For settings I'm thinking ISO100 and the smallest aperture as I'll be using the

tripod. Is it always best to use the smallest aperture like f22 if you're using

a tripod?

When focusing, is it best to rely on AF or focus manually to infinity?

I've only recently bought the Sigma 10-20mm so I'm hoping to use it a lot in the

mountains. If anyone could give me some advice on extreme wide angle for

landscape photography it'd be greatly apreciated. The Sigma is great for

distorting perspective when you want it to, but I'm worried about it distorting

when I don't want it to or ending up with images that just look appear too flat.

I've been reading as much as I can about landscape photography and have got some

tips about things like including foreground objects to add depth and trees and

foliage to frame images and sometimes zooming in on landscapes rather than just

trying to go wide all the time, but any additional advice would be truly welcomed.

Many thanks for reading.

Mark

Hey Mark,