Tri-X at 1600ISO

Hi all,

Recently I've started working with film again with a couple of old Nikons (FM

& FE).

Currently I have a roll of Tri-X in the FE and I'm exposing it at 1600ISO

(concert work). Can my local lab handle this? I read somewhere that 'extra

work' is needed when push processing Tri-X to 1600, but no idea what.

The lab has done satisfactory push processing in the past, but I have the

feeling they're slipping these days and I don't want them to scr*w it up.

In case you are wondering, I have no 'wet' darkroom experience whatsoever, but

I'm starting to think that doing all this stuff myself can't be very far away

if I want to continue using film...

Ronald,

The only real extra work is an extended time in the developer. However, that assumes the lab bothers to check film-specific times for the temperature for the 2-stop push.

You certainly dont need a darkroom to develop film - a change bag is enough! To attempt developing yourself is not difficult. I recently had correspondence via email with a member here who contacted me about first time developing B&W film. Using only email over about 4 days we went from what to buy, what to do with it, go and shoot a test roll and actually develop it, with quite satisfactory results. Plus traditional emulsions like Tri-X are reasonably forgiving as well.

Go on Ron, take the plunge... do it ya-self! :))

I second what Craig said -- do it yourself is the best way to go. I keep all the "equipment"

in a plastic storage box. All told, not over $50 worth of tanks, reels, thermometer,

changing bag, film clips, measuring cups. I keep the few chemicals I need in an old plastic

cooler to avoid spillage. It's easier than you probably think right now. Tri-X pushes nicely

with the standard developers such as D-76. You can experiment and get different looks

with other developers, e.g. Rodinal, which is sharp and pleasingly grainy. There's a whole

world of fun and excitement waiting for you. Jump in!