Filters for both B&W and other uses

I am new to B&W photography. In fact, this weekend will be my first adventure

in trying it out. I am planning on buying some Kodak T-Max100 film and I would

like to get a filter that can actually serve purposes.

I want a filter that will darken the blue sky, and I hear that a deep yellow or

orange can do the trick.

So my question is, if I buy an 85, 85B or 85C filter, will I get the same

effect?

The reason I ask is, I used Tungsten film sometimes and if I can get one filter

to do the job for both my B&W as well as my indoor shooting, that would be

great.

Does anyone have any input on which I should buy, or if this is even a good

idea for a beginner?

Filters that are strong enough to be noticable in B&W are generally too strong to be useful with color film. Those 85, 85B, or 85C filters are very subtle, and won't have a very noticable effect in B&W.

A polarizer (circular if your camera requires it) is useful for both B&W and color work. It's probably the most useful "dual purpose" filter.

An actual deep orange or red filter in B&W is great for darkening skies and making white fluffy clouds stand out, but it's far too strong an effect to use in color photos, unless you're intentionally going for a nonrealistic look.

Filters work by blocking certain bandwidths of light and allowing others. AS the other post suggested, filters that work well with black and white film will not produce anything usable with color film unless you are going for an extreme effect. I would suggest getting three filters for black and white to start: #8, #15, and #25. This will give you a good spread of effects that you can use to learn with and then if you feel the need to fill in the gaps later you can. Green filters are also useful, but I would wait on them until you have a better understanding of how filters work.

This is a good introduction to how filters can be used, and why they do what they do.