XTOL Dilution Rationale Question

<p>I apologize for the dumb question, but I'm just learning about B&W development and I have a few questions about XTOL...<br>

Specifically, could someone help me understand the rationale behind which dilution ratio to choose? ie: stock, 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, etc.<br>

I just purchased some XTOL from the local pro shop and I have a few rolls to develop so, I'd like to make an informed decision on which dilution to choose. The film I will be developing is as follows: Fuji Across - 135, Delta 100 - 135, Tmax 400 - 120.<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>Michael, do you know about the Massive Development Chart at DigitalTruth.com? It has the development times for a lot of films in a lot of developers. The dilution has slightly different effects on the film, but ratios like 1:3 give you more economy, but take longer to develop the film (times are longer). I don't know if that explains anything about rationale's...</p>

<p>According to Anchell and Troop, XTOL is a solvent developer. What that means is that when used at stock or low dilution, the grains are disolved resulting in finer grain and at higher dilutions the solvent effect is reduced and edge effects (sharpness increasing effects due to developer depletion) appear. So the first thing I'd recommend doing, is take two rolls of exactly the same images and develop one in XTOL stock and the other in XTOL 1:3.</p>

<p>One thought that has crossed my mind recently is that in the digital age, increasing sharpness during development may be a lot less interesting than it was in the projection printing age, since scans can easily be sharpened after the fact. So I'd think (and I realize that thinking is often a bad idea), that the solvent effect would improve retention of fine detail.</p>