Why do you take pictures?

<p>Why do you take pictures?<br>

I’ve been taking pictures for nearly 60 years. Mostly, it has been a hobby. For a decade, it was my profession and now it is a hobby again. I do have an undergraduate major in fine art and have made my living as a technical illustrator, lawyer and CEO of a software security company.</p>

<p>I enjoy making photographs much as I do painting or sculpting. I see the camera and computer as tools, much like brushes, pigments and canvas.</p>

<p>In the past, my work was regularly published as advertising in magazines and catalogues, as well as travel periodicals (my sideline as a photojournalist). Today, they are for my enjoyment and pushed upon my family. Because I don’t sell or publish them has not diminished my enjoyment – it may have increased it. When I was a working photographer, the vision in the image was usually that of the art director and I was a means to an end. Today the vision (usually imperfectly executed) is mine.</p>

<p>While I don’t have the large inventory of equipment and studio I did when I made my living from photography, the equipment I have today and the computers (that are the darkroom) are capable of producing images I could not even dream of 40 years ago. Even so, the pleasure I derive from photography today is the same it was 50 years ago – it is the production on paper or screen of an image conceived in my mind.</p>

<p>I remember discussion in art school of whether or not you could be an artist if you never shared your work. I’m happy with the conversion of thought to tangible image. I do wonder if others think about why they enjoy photography and why they make the effort at it that they do?</p>