What's the rationale for "focus by wire"?

<p>Many manufacturers produce so-called "focus by wire" lenses, particularly for mirrorless

systems (and indeed it might even be that <em>all</em> autofocus lenses for mirrorless cameras use the focus by

wire system).</p>

<p>Why is this?</p>

<p>I'm not asking about user opinions or usability here - I'm wondering what a manufacturer's design/engineering

rationale is for choosing a focus by wire design over lenses that have a physical/mechanical coupling between the

focus ring and the lens elements.</p>

I would agree that focus by wire on mirrorless ILCs is to reduce the size and weight of those systems. I suspect all my Olympus M43 lenses are focus by wire, but I have had no MF issues with them. Even the cheaper lenses seem to have a well dampened focus ring.

<p>I'm no engineer, but I guess it takes a lot more solid material to resist the clumsy force of a big guy like me, than the tiny AF motors' efforts.<br>

Creating real mechanics for such different operators is complicated. - Much easier to provide us with a sticky "by wire" ring and keeing the AFing mechanism as smooth as possible.</p>

<p>No mechanical coupling is required between the focusing ring and helix. The construction is simpler and requires no change over (depends on the lens and camera). On my Sony, I find that fly-by-wire manual focusing is velocity controlled. A quick turn changes the focus quickly, while slow turning gives fine control. The lag time is still there, and extremely frustrating, unless you use manual control only for fine tuning.</p>

<p>Nikon AF-S lenses use a much better idea. You can switch to manual focus seamlessly. The ring doesn't rotate in AF, but there's no lag in manual focus. I think the ring moves the stator and AF moves the rotor (and helix).</p>