Some bird photography questions

yardkat

Hello all,

I am new to bird photography and bird ID. We have some wonderful wetlands around us with a lot of species of migratory birds. I know there are a lot of fabulous bird photographers in the Nikon forum, so I thought I'd just ask you all some of my very, extremely, so much basic questions.

I shoot with a D750 and a Sigma 150-600. It's a pretty heavy lens and I have trouble nailing the focus. Any tips for how to steady the lens? I used my knee when I could, and tried to be as steady as possible. When shooting from the car, I could use the arm rest to stabilize. My husband was driving so he used the window and did better than I. (Yeah, so how do you crawl over your spouse to get the shot??? ;) How do you birders get so close to your subjects? I thought I was walking so softly and carefully, and PLENTY far away, and the heron would just get skittish and fly off. I'd prefer to use a tripod but most of the time that timing wasn't an option.

Reviewing my images, I do see that the mid-day shots with more difficult lighting also look more soft, so I get that lighting is important, too. We were just there when we were there.

I am thinking of getting a DX camera for bird photography to improve the reach. Since we're just starting this avenue, I want to buy used and spend as little as possible since this is something we won't be doing every weekend. I know the D500 is the obvious choice, is the D7500 worth considering for this? I'll be buying used so if there's something else out there that I haven't though of, let me know. (I'd love to spend under 800, under 600 would be dreamy, but I'm aware that's difficult.) I'm going to live with the Sigma lens for now. (TBH I'd rather get a Z6 kit before I add another DSLR, but suddenly the crop sensor has appeal for birdies.)