Seeking new macro lens and wide angle lens

Hi all,

I am quite new to photography, and currently have a Nikon D200 with an AF Nikkor 28-70mm 3.5-4.5 d lens, but I am looking into getting a couple of new lens', for close up animal shots and a wide angle lens for nature photography. I would prefer around a mid range budget but will take any suggestions.

Thank you!

A disclaimer - I'm not digital for the most part.

That out of the way, What kind of critters are we talking about? Bugs or lions? When you're speaking macro, you are gong to be very close to your subject, usually a matter of centimeters. Go to Africa and use a macro for lions and chances are you won't make it back.

Most of us think of wildlife lenses starting around 300mm. But that all depends on how close you expect to get and how big your subject is.

For nature/landscape, a 28mm which you already have, is a good wide angle. But just about any lens can be used for landscape. Again, it depends on the subject

If you do want something wider, a 20mm? But before you do that, get some more practice with the 28mm end of your lens.

Myself? I love using a 20mm for landscapes, but it is very easy totally screw the photograph up unless you are very aware of foreground v background. Go wider and the challenge increases.

Bottom line - use what you have now and master it and at the same time there are lots of books on the subject. National Geographic has a good web site for what you seem to be interested in. Don't go crazy and start buying equipment before you really know how to use what you have and then know what you need.

A disclaimer - I'm not digital for the most part.

That out of the way, What kind of critters are we talking about? Bugs or lions? When you're speaking macro, you are gong to be very close to your subject, usually a matter of centimeters. Go to Africa and use a macro for lions and chances are you won't make it back.