Night Landscapes

Discussion in 'Landscape' started by davidtriplett, Dec 2, 2016.

1. So often we associate nighttime images with either astro-photography of the stars and moon, or of night scenes of the city or other man-made subjects including artificial light sources. I started playing with nighttime landscape opportunities almost as soon as I bought my first DSLR. If there is a moon for lighting, but the stars are not totally overwhelmed, it can make for some interesting effects. Here are a couple of mine. Please share some of yours.
    00eG8s-566696984.jpg

Supriyo likes this.
  2. Here is another one from Bryce Canyon:
    00eG8t-566697084.jpg

3. An emergency vehicle sliding through the frame....somewhat different than lightning. Some action is good.
    00eG97-566697684.jpg

4. Gup

Gup Gup

This is from a canoe trip in northern Ontario.
    It's always a challenge with a bright moon.
    00eG9o-566698784.jpg

yardkat and Renee Shipley like this.
  5. trying out 12800 ISO
    00eGD4-566710384.jpg

polydemic likes this.
  6. David- I really like your photo.
    Here is one of the Teton Range from the Idaho side on an extremely clear (and cold) night. This was a single exposure. The brightest object above the road was Jupiter.
    I have also been playing with a composite of two images, the first taken at dusk and the second, without moving the camera and tripod, taken after dark.
    00eGFV-566715484.jpg

DavidTriplett and Renee Shipley like this.
  7. Here is a composite image of two photos, one photo taken at dusk, and one well after dark.
    00eGFY-566715584.jpg

8. Glenn, I love both images. I've been thinking about trying the composite approach, and now I'll have to try and follow your example. Thanks for sharing!

9. Gup, what happens if you point the camera the other direction? Did you try that angle?

10. Beautiful shots, all of them! Why is it that where i live the sky is so bland but everywhere else it's just.. like in this pictures.