Newbie Questions

<p>I'm a color bigot (Fuji Velvia, Provia) who is going to try my hand at B&W through my old manual focus 35mm and medium format gear.</p>

<p>I'd prefer:<br>

1) FILM: A film that a lab will process, scan and (possibly) print. If the film in question usually requires a filter for an even exposure, which filter is recommended. I'd prefer to avoid C-41 (B&W as if it were a color film). I did that once, and the results were poor, perhaps due to my choice of the lab.<br>

2) LATITUDE: A film that has good exposure latitude. I like my color exposures to have narrow latitude. But one of the reasons I'd like to go to B&W is to explore a broader range of gray scale within an exposure.<br>

3) GRAIN: Relatively fine grain. I'm new to this, so my standards will not be as high as y'alls. But I would like a relatively smooth looking end-product.<br>

4) LAB: A recommended lab who will do the work. I have my color slides done through North Coast Photographic Services in Carlsbad, CA, and they do nice work. If you have had good luck with them, I'll stay there. If there are superior labs for B&W, please advise.</p>

<p>Much of this may have been covered elsewhere at Photo.net, but my preliminary searches are giving me too much chaff and not enough wheat. Feel free to just give me URLs to the good stuff that has already been discussed.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Whoopsie! </p>

<p>First, thanks for your consideration and guidance. Plus!:</p>

<p>5) SPEED: It would be nice to shoot at ASA 200+. 400 would be ideal, I think. A couple of additional stops would keep me productive in lower light where my ASA 100 Provia totally gives up. :-)</p>

<p>I'd say that Ilford XP-2 would meet essentially every one of your criteria, except that is a C-41 process film.<br>

It's tough to get B&W, regular-developer films done these days, around my neighborhood anyhow.<br>

Develop-it-yourself and scan is what I do when I shoot regular B&W films.<br>