Mercury intensification

<p>Hello. I have a bottle of mercury intensifier that I preserved only for emergencies. The thing is that after 15 or more years I want to use it but I don't remember a few things. After put the negatives in the intensifier I need to take off the white layer that forms using a solution of some developer or a solution of sodium sulfite but I don't remember what kind of solution. And the other thing is the last negative I used with this type of intensifier is a bit fade. Can I wash and use selenium to make permanent the mercury intensifier or are there any incompatibility? I know that I have to use gloves and that mercury is poisonous. Many thanks in advance</p>

<p>Do you know which mercury intensifier you have? I have some instructions for VMI (Smith Victor) including some instructions for after treatment.<br>

Incidentally, I wouldn't recommend relying on gloves. I'm no expert, but some mercury chemicals are surprisingly poisonous. I know this isn't the mercury compound that you have, but this is worth reading:<br>

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karen_Wetterhahn</p>

<p>Ah, I knew that there were a reason to use developer (dektol) or sodium sulfite. One is more strong that the other. Many thanks Glen.<br>

John, I finally did the intensification with sodium sulfite using gloves. All was ok, hope to not dead in six months. But for what I remember this solution is not so dangerous, obviously you can't drink it and must take it with extremely care. The kind of intensifier I used is from a local mark, Romek, but they don't do anymore this product and I can't find the instructions. I suppose that is very similar to Victor or old Kodak intensifiers. I will appreciate to know the instructions to compare with the other sent by Glen.<br>