Film Keeps Coming Out Blank

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the film camera family and I just bought a used Canon AE-1 35mm SLR film camera. The owner claimed that it worked perfectly, but my film keeps coming out blank.

I have tried multiple rolls of film but they all come out blank. I have checked and the film was loaded correctly and is advancing correctly. I have also checked my shutters and they are opening fine, this is what I did to check my shutters: I opened the back of the camera (without film in it), cocked the camera’s shutter, and looked through the lens plane while I clicked the shutter button. I could see a brief circle of light appear and disappear.

Does anyone have any ideas on why this could be happening?

Please don't be offended if I ask a few basic questions--1) Are you using the light meter to get proper exposure? 2) Did you set the proper ASA/ISO for the film that you were using? The AE-1 is what used to be called a "shutter priority" automatic exposure camera. 3)Did you have the shutter set on 1/1000 (1000 on the shutter speed dial) and attempt to take pictures in a dimly lit room? 4) Do you have the lens set on A or to a particular f/stop? If set at f/22 indoors, this could account for your results. If the shutter is firing you must have a working battery, so that isn't the immediate problem. If you don't have the instruction manual, this is readily available on line, and would be useful if you're just getting started. Please get back to us with a little more information and I'm sure someone will have the answer to your issue.

Photo film features edge printing. This will be frame numbers, emulsion batch numbers, other marks and likely manufacturer's name. Edge printing is applied using light. If after processing, you see this edge printing, likely the problem is with the camera. If the processing is at fault, the edge printing will be void or nearly void. Tell us about the edge printing on this film.
  • Like 2