Extension tube and teleconverter

It might be pretty simple to someone professional, but I'm not a pro, so I still have some questions about the issue. Correct me if I'm wrong in any of the statements below:

I know that "extension tube" is just a hollow tube which sits between the body and the lens and allows you to make closer shots. Sort of cheap option for macro shots. Have done it with M42.

I also know that "teleconverter" incorporates an optical element, sits between the body and the lens and allows you to amplify lense's focal length by 1.4x, 2x or whatever it is, while minimum focal length remains the same. So theoretically one could use a t-con instead of a tube for closeup shots, at certain level (also have done it once or twice with Olympus OM).

I know both items do bad things to light, meaning actual working aperture is also multiplied and for example, instead of f/2 min. aperture you get f/4, need longer exposure and so on. But what happens to DOF in this case? If I set the aperture at 2, but light passing through it is equivalent of f/4, will the depth of field also be same as f/4?

I understand that buying a dedicated macro lens is the best option since they produce good edge-to-edge sharpness of the image which isn't achievable in other cases, but I'm asking out of curiosity, so please don't dodge my question and don't tell me to go and buy a macro lens :D

Depth-of-field will be whatever the effective aperture and focal length of the lens dictate.

A simple extension tube will reduce the effective aperture, but not alter the focal length. The effect is greater with increasing length of tube.

A teleconverter will change both the aperture and focal length, regardless of focus distance. The aperture will also reduce as the lens is focussed closer.