Canon FTb, Light meter and batteries.

dominik_m

<p>Hi everyone.<br /> I have just joined this fabulous forum after long nights of reading it's contents.<br /> So, I am new to photography and even newer to Canon FD cameras, but despite I have purchased Canon FTb first series. Love at first sight.</p>

<p>I got it of ebay, seller could not tell anything about its history. There was an 7 years old invoice for re-hauling this camera, however it doesn't say anything about adjusting meter's voltage to alkaline batteries it came with. Battery was dead anyway, so I have bought Wein cell. And first question: I measured voltage and it is 1.45v . Is it normal?<br /> Second question. Whilst checking meter's battery state (set ASA 100, Tv 1/1000s, and pull lever to C) needle isn't exactly at "square" seen at right side of viewfinder but slightly above. To visualize it: if "square" was at 8 o'clock, needle would be at 8:20. If I insert alkaline battery (1.55v) needle goes even higher, up to 8:40. Hence I suppose camera's meter wasn't calibrated for higher voltage of alkaline battery, am I right?</p>

<p>And to puzzle me even more, after developing pictures taken according to meter's indications turns out all pictures were slightly overexposed ( too bright).</p>

<p>As far as I learned from reading this forum, best and cheapest solution would be to set ISO to higher, is that correct?</p>

<p>Many thanks,<br /> Dominik</p>

<p>an alkaline cell is not stable, Your meter will be off one<br>

way or the other wityh an alkaline cell.<br>

a cheap zinc-air hearing aid battery IS stable.<br>

A silver oxide battery ( cell is fine if the camera goes in for a cla<br>

and the repairman addes a SHOTTKY DIODE in series with the battery wire.<br>

this is a permanent fix. but for the meantime use the zinc-air battery<br>

it may last several months.<br>

This is a common problem with older cameras that were designed for a banned Mercury cell.<br>